The history of the Château d’Audrieu is closely linked to the history of Normandy and its most famous representative, William the Conqueror.
He became William II of Normandy in 1035 after the death of his father. He turned Normandy into a powerful duchy, which was independent of the Kingdom of France. Following his victory at the Battle of Hastings, William became King of England in 1066. His epic is illustrated by the Bayeux Tapestry, a precious embroidery from the 11th century, which is listed on the Memory of the World register by the UNESCO and preserved in the William the Conqueror Centre in the town of Bayeux.
The château, listed as a Historical Monument, remains unchanged. However, inside, the architect Philippe de Lanouvelle, in charge of the renovation of the château and in agreement with the new management, made the decision to “rejuvenate” the whole interior whilst both enhancing the spirit of the time when the Château was built (1715) and improving comfort.
The Château d’Audrieu is furnished with classical background furniture inspired by the 17th and 18th centuries, with reference to its history and tradition. This furniture is completed with traditional seats from the Jean-Pierre Besse manufacture in the Vosges region, thus perpetuating the know-how of French cabinet-making.
A magnificent park, the charm of the “white garden”, the aromas of the vegetable garden and a calm swimming pool on the edge of a forest. The Château d’Audrieu rejoices in a 50 acres park and 12 acres of gardens landscaped in 1985 by the landscaper Louis Benech. They include a jardin à la française (French formal garden), an English garden, the “white garden”, the “rose garden” and a vegetable garden.